Song: Chrisette Michele “Golden”

Once upon a time, there was a girl who believed in her heart of hearts that love was the ultimate happiness. She believed that once her true love was found she would be in total bliss until the end of her days. Well that girl grew up into a woman, and now she wonders..

Whatever happened to that “Golden” love? I mean old fashioned romance. The days when lovers wrote handwritten love letters back and forth to each other through snail mail. When the man confessed his undying love for her, and the woman also confessing her undying love for him. The art of romance isn’t what it was in the past. Handwritten letters is replaced by e-mails over the Internet. A man once presents to his true love a bouquet of freshly cut red roses, not because it is her birthday or Valentine’s Day he did it because he loves her every day of his life. Bottom line is, The modern world has grown too fast to slow down for that Golden commitment that Chrisette talks about.

(Turn on your sarcasm detector.) Apparently, life was better in the old days. People fell in love, and stayed in love. Life was so much better! Much like “old-fashioned” popcorn, or “old-fashioned” furniture, “old-fashioned” love was a grand adventure, much like the movie “The Notebook”. (Turn off sarcasm detector, now.)

To dispel those notions, please understand that in the old days, Women were not allowed to vote, popcorn-additives were highly-unregulated, and largely, Women were not allowed the same property rights as today. In fact, Women were expected to stay at home and raise their children, without a need for education or training. Ever heard of the statement “Bare-foot and Pregnant”?? Yeah So, were the “Old days” really much more different than Nowadays?

Yes, I realize that we live in an immediate gratification society(Microwave Society), where everyone is trying to beat everyone else to the punch. Where lightning fast internet and up-to-the-minute news still isn’t fast enough. Where competitiveness is a national sport, and a much sought after personality trait.

Myself, I prefer a nice smile, a great sense of humor, a Swasgger that Kills, some kinda culture, Education or talent, emotion, and sincerity, OOH and I almost forgot lightning fast internet too… AM I ASKING TOO MUCH? DAMN!

But, I digress…

Whatever happened to slow, soft kisses and holding hands?
They seem to have been replaced with hurrying to stick one’s tongue down the other’s throat and jumping into bed within minutes of meeting someone. I’ve never been the type of girl to have one night stand’s or gave myself freely. However, some of my friends are “REAL WHORES” (no pun ladies), and these are the women that keep a man. Smh, it’s like a “catch 22”.

Call me old fashioned, but it takes more than three dates at allow someone to see the holiest of my… well, you know. I mean, I’m not an Angel and honestly, in my current relationship, we have this CHEMISTRY, this PASSION that is and was irrisistable. So needless to say, I didn’t wait 3 dates this time! (talk about that in a future Blog) LOL

So to the one who makes me believe in Love Everlasting

Thank you for all the love you share with me unselfishly. I fell in love with you the moment I looked into your eyes, but I was so afraid of letting you in and being hurt again. I’m so glad you didn’t give up. I cannot imagine what my life would be without you. Falling asleep in your arms every night and waking up beside you each morning is only a dream that I know one day will come true. You are my everything… I love you so much. Every day that goes by, every time we make love, I fall deeper and deeper in love with you. I know there will never be anyone else for me, for everyone would pale in comparison to you and what you make me feel. Thank you, Sweetheart, for healing my broken heart. Thank you for making me believe in miracles.

All my love forever,

Eby

