Disclaimer: This situation I have been having numerous conversations about. It really isn’t targeting anything going on in my person life. However, it has been on my mind and I’d like to address this issue! ENJOY!!

Love. That four letter word that brings so much happiness, so much heartache..but is still so worthwhile. Friendship. That wonderful bonding, that incomparable rush of emotion that cuts across age, race, gender, religion and region. But what happens if you combine the two? Falling in love is complicated enough, so what happens if the object of your affection is your ‘best’ friend?

Friendship blossoming into love is actually a rather common phenomenon. No wonder, considering that friendship is usually built on the platforms of mutual affection, unconditional support, or common interests, backgrounds or circumstances, similar to those that love is built on. Moreover, friends support each other through thick and thin, the good times and the bad and the ups and downs that make up life. Very similar therefore, to the qualities that make up a good mate.

In this context, all it takes is a small spark, to ignite the gentle glow of friendship to the full on flame of passion.

There are many advantages in falling for your best bud. For one, you zip past the ‘downside’ of dating: Remember the sweaty palms and awkward silences of your first date? Or the constant pressure to present your ‘best’ side? When you’re in a romantic relationship with your best friend, you get to relax and just enjoy each other’s company. What’s more, you need not shield those skeletons in your closet ’cause chances are, your friend knows about all of them and loves and accepts you anyway.

However such a situation has a serious downside as well. For example, what if your friend does not share your feelings? What if he/she is so disgusted at your amorous affections that he/she can never look at you the same way again? Or what if things simply don’t work out? These are some serious pitfalls to what might otherwise seem an idyllic scenario. The key question amidst all of this uncertainty is: Is declaring your love to your best friend worth risking the friendship? Tough question but one that definitely needs to be confronted before you take any course of action.

Going forward, the main question is how to broach such a sensitive topic. Will the direct approach of being completely blunt about your feelings be the best approach? Or will the subtle, gradual approach of carefully dropping hints over a certain span of time, be better? Naturally, in matters of the heart there can be no hard and fast rules or foolproof formulae. What’s more, the most important thing while in such a delicate situation is to exercise caution and employ all the sensitivity possible to ensure that things go according to plan.

So, I’d advise to be first, Assess the situation with a clear head, Prepare yourself for anything,Test the waters,Time your move, Make your move, and last but certainly not least, Face the consequences! Accept both victory and defeat with grace. If your friend responds positively – take things slow and savor each moment of your time together. If he/she turns you down, preserve the friendship. Just because you two can’t have romantic love together, doesn’t mean you have to throw away the friendship.

Ultimately, remember whatever the outcome of your ‘coming clean’, come what may, you will always have precious memories of your time together to cherish forever!

….. Now For Your thoughts

LOVERS AND FRIENDS

Hard…ball
Hard…head
No more asking
No need to beg
Let’s…just…do this
Gifts exchanged…before Christmas
Let’s not take it so seriously
Just satisfy the curiosity
You want me…I’m tired of running
The attractions there…I’m done frontin’
Lips kissed
Thoughts…dismissed
I hope this doesn’t destroy our friendship
You whisper…it’ll make it stronger
And the neck bites I couldn’t fight any longer
You smelled so good…felt so right
As your touches increased my sexual appetite
I want you…but you’re somebody else’s
I hate the fact that I even felt this
Destroying your home, on my part…that’s plain ol’ selfish
She said well, you’re my Christmas wish…
So I became Santa Clause…we kissed under mistletoe
Placed gifts under the tree…gave her all of me…
Whispering this my first time
She moaned I was lyin’…
Passion exchanged until we fell to sleep
Her phone ringing woke me up while she was next to me
It was him…and she had to leave
As I felt my heart be ripped from my sleeve
I smiled…kissed her head and asked if we were good
She kissed my lips and said everything’s understood…
See you tonight…

